My Journey to Becoming a Better Dad – Day 4

Image“Fun Dad”

Through the years I’ve come to realize that part of being a good dad is making sure I have fun with my kids. I never want my kids to look back on their childhood and think their dad was a bore. I want them to remember me as a dad who enjoyed life and absolutely loved having fun with them.

Just the other day my four year old told me, “Dad, I have so much fun playing with you.” Hearing those words instantly melted my heart. After thanking Jackson, I asked, “But why is it fun?”

He replied back, “Because I like being with you.”

I reached over to him and picked him up and squeezed him tightly. It wasn’t long before he had me in a choke hold—and then, in Jackson fashion, proceeded to use his boxing skills on me.

That time spent putting a puzzle together and wrestling with my son on the floor is a fun memory I now share with Jackson.

I’ve also come to realize that being a fun dad doesn’t require a lot of money. Many of the dads that I’ve counseled through the years think buying their kids whatever they want automatically makes them a fun dad. I remember a young man once told me, “I would exchange every expensive present my dad bought me just to spend time with him.”

The truth is, fun memories aren’t made up of materialism or limited to vacations to Disney World. (But don’t tell that to my two year old whose been telling me for the past two weeks that she wants to go to Disney World). It’s certainly great for families to plan special trips and explore the world. But most of what children remember is the small stuff. What children care most about is whether or not dad looked for ways to have fun with them. Did my dad play with me outside? Did my dad read books to me and tell crazy made-up stories? Did he spend time teaching me valuable lessons and look for ways to make me laugh?

These are lasting memories that will shape and define our children.

That reminds me of a dear friend of mine. My wife and I were standing around talking to him after our oldest son’s football game. His wife was gone most of the day, so my friend had all four of his kids. My wife offered to take one of his boys home with us. He replied, “No, no, no. This is my day with my kids. I plan to spend time with them.”

That’s it! Think of how easy it would’ve been for my friend to let us take his son home with us? But instead, my friend had his priorities straight. His mission that Saturday was to build lasting memories with his four children.

How about you?

Application

Here’s the point: Inspire to be a fun dad that your kids are passionate to want to be around.

Questions

  1. Are you spending time with your kids?
  2. Do your kids love spending time with you? Why or why not?
  3. What are some things you can do better to make lasting memories with your family?

Action Steps

  1. Make it a top priority to do something fun with your kids this week.
  2. Look for ways to involve yourself in your kids’ daily lives.
  3. Share and recall these fun memories with your family.

Scriptures: Ecclesiastes 3:13; Proverbs 15:13

Leave a comment